Search site

Changes to New Forest District Council Cabinet

Leader of the Council, Councillor Barry Rickman, has today (Tuesday 21 November) announced changes to the Cabinet of New Forest District Council.

Cabinet is responsible for the administration of the district council's activities. It consists of the Leader and other members of the majority party (Conservatives). The Leader has responsibility to appoint other members to the Cabinet. Each Cabinet member holds a separate portfolio of responsibilities (see below).

Cllr Rickman said, "The number of councillors who have portfolios in my Cabinet will increase from the current six, and the new Cabinet will have eight people to help address the significant challenges that we face in continuing to tackle austerity, provide more housing, and meet the needs of the community.

"Within our group we have many skilled and knowledgeable local councillors. The time is right for using more of their expertise to benefit the work of the Cabinet. The need for innovation in how we deliver good services with less funding, meeting the needs of our community in this special place and the importance of reflecting a wider representation of the whole district when we make decisions is I believe addressed with these changes."

The Cabinet will be made up as follows:


Leader and Corporate Affairs - Cllr Barry Rickman

Political Structures

Employee Engagement

Corporate Plan

Emergency Planning

Staff Matters

Organisational Strategy

Town and Parish Council matters


Planning and Infrastructure - Cllr Edward Heron

Local Plan

Development Control

Building Control

Listed Buildings and Conservation

Open Space Infrastructure

Car Parking and Traffic Management matters


Finance, Corporate Services and Improvement - Cllr Jeremy Heron

Medium Term Financial Plan

Financial Services

Information and Communication Technology

Legal Services

Democratic Services

Human Resources

Performance and Risk Management


Housing Services - Cllr Jill Cleary

Housing Strategy (Local Housing Need)

Council House Management (inc Building Works)

Improvement Grants

Housing Benefits



Leisure and Wellbeing - Cllr James Binns

Health and Leisure Centres

Local Leisure, Arts and Heritage

Health and Wellbeing Board

Older Person's Affairs

Children and Youth Affairs


Community Affairs - Cllr Diane Andrews

Community Engagement

Community Grants and Support

Customer Services

Elections and Electoral Registration

Community Safety Partnership (Safer New Forest)





Environment & Regulatory Services - Cllr Alison Hoare

Refuse Collection and Recycling

Street Cleaning

Abandoned Vehicles

Environmental Health Services

Coastal Protection and Drainage Issues

Grounds Maintenance Services


Public toilets



Local Economic Development, Property and Innovation - Cllr Michael Harris

Economic Development Strategy

Business Engagement and Growth

New Forest Business Partnership

Local Enterprise Partnerships

Asset Management/Property Matters

Smarter Working

Collaboration and Innovation


The first meeting of the new Cabinet will be on 6 December 2017. The changes to the portfolios take effect immediately.



Updated: 21 Nov 2017
Powered by GOSS iCM