Toggle menu

Help to Buy Shared Ownership

From 31st March 2023 the current Help to Buy Agent services will come to an end. This will be replaced by a new service on GOV.UK.  

Existing applicants with Help to Buy will be contacted by the agent with further information on the transfer of shared ownership services.  

If you are interested in purchasing a shared ownership home in the New Forest District you can register your details with us.

About shared ownership

If you would like to own your home but are unable to afford to buy it outright, shared ownership allows you to buy your home in stages. You buy a share of your home and pay rent on the rest. Shares typically start at between 25% and 75% depending on what you can afford.

Buying a smaller share means a smaller deposit and a smaller mortgage. When you are ready, you can buy more shares. In most cases, you will be able to continue buying shares until you own 100% of your home.

Eligibility for shared ownership

To be eligible to purchase a shared ownership home, you must:

  • be aged 18 years or over
  • have a household income of less than £80,000 (outside of London)
  • be unable to afford to buy a home suitable for your needs on the open market
  • not own your own home, or be in the process of selling it if you do
  • not be in rent or mortgage arrears.

For some shared ownership homes, you will need to show that you have a connection to the New Forest area.

You will also need enough savings to raise a deposit and pay for costs associated with buying a home.

Types of home

Shared ownership homes are available to buy new or as re-sale. They can be apartments or houses, and can be developed by the council and housing associations.

Share this page

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share by email